VAO

Seit dem 19. April 2012 existiert das „Virtuelle Alpenobservatorium“ (VAO) als Netzwerk von europäischen Höhenforschungsstationen in den Alpen und alpenähnlichen Gebirgen aus mittlerweile acht Ländern (Deutschland, Frankreich, Georgien, Italien, Norwegen, Österreich, Schweiz und Slowenien). Wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen im System Atmosphäre, Biosphäre, Hydro- und Kryosphäre und auch mögliche gesundheitliche Auswirkungen von Umwelteinflüssen können durch diesen Zusammenschluss in einer inhaltlichen Tiefe beantwortet werden, die ohne diese länder- und fachübergreifende Kooperation nicht möglich wäre.

VAO: Netzwerk europäischer Alpenobservatorien mit verbundener Infrastruktur und gemeinsamen Forschungsschwerpunkten

Motto: Wissenschaftliche Kooperation - Vereinen von Kräften und Ressourcen statt Dopplung von Anstrengungen

Ziel: Etablierung und Weiterentwicklung alpiner Forschungseinrichtungen zur Beantwortung drängender wissenschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Fragestellungen

Beteiligte Länder: Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Österreich, Schweiz, Slowenien

Assoziierte Länder: Georgien, Norwegen

Grundkonzepte: Data-on-Demand, Computing-on-Demand, Operating-on-Demand, Service-on-Demand

Motivation

Die Alpenregion zählt zu den Regionen der Erde, die vom Klimawandel in ganz besonderer Weise betroffen sind. So ist hier die Temperatur seit dem Jahr 1900 um etwa +2,0°C angestiegen, während im europäischen Durchschnitt mit +1,2°C nur ein etwa halb so starker Anstieg verzeichnet wird. Im globalen Mittel liegt die Erwärmung bei etwa +0,8°C. Es steht zu erwarten, dass die vergleichsweise starke Erwärmung, wie wir sie gegenwärtig im Alpenraum erleben, nicht ohne Folgen für die verschiedenen Bereiche des alpinen Umweltsystems bleibt: Atmosphäre, Biosphäre, Hydrosphäre und Kryosphäre bilden ein komplexes System von miteinander verbundenen Prozessen. Veränderungen in einem Bereich wirken sich auch auf alle anderen Sphären aus. Die Frage, wie diese Kopplung funktioniert, ist zentraler Gegenstand aktueller Forschung. Ein umfassendes Verständnis des komplexen alpinen Umweltsystems setzt Forschung voraus, die insbesondere interdisziplinär ausgelegt sein muss: Ein Ziel des VAO ist es daher, Wissenschaftler, Ingenieure und Techniker aus nahezu allen eingangs genannten Bereichen der Umweltforschung zusammen zu bringen. Dies ermöglicht die Untersuchung umweltrelevanter Themen aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven, schafft Synergien und erlaubt die Formulierung umfassenderer Lösungsansätze als dies sonst möglich wäre.

Herausforderungen

Die besondere Sensibilität der Alpenregion auf den Wandel des Klimas ist Herausforderung und Chance zugleich. Die Herausforderung besteht zunächst (A) in der Aufgabe einer nachhaltigen, messtechnischen Erfassung geophysikalischer Schlüsselgrößen des alpinen Umweltsystems, wie sie zur Beantwortung aktueller, wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen erforderlich sind.

Messungen in diesen Bereichen müssen häufig an verschiedenen Orten des Alpenraums, nach vergleichbaren Standards, mit hinreichender Präzision und ggf. auch synchronisiert erfolgen, denn belastbare und qualitätsgesicherte Beobachtungen bilden die Grundlage eines soliden naturwissenschaftlichen Verständnisses.

Ansprüche an die Messdaten

  • in synchronisierter Form → Kohärenz
  • gemeinsame Standards einhalten → Vergleichbarkeit
  • ggf. über einen längeren Zeitraum hinweg → Dauerhaftigkeit
  • an verschiedenen Orten in der Alpenregion → Repräsentativität

Die zweite Stufe der Herausforderung liegt in der (B) wissenschaftlichen Interpretation der gewonnenen Messdaten. Deren Abgleich mit unserem bisherigen Verständnis des alpinen Umweltsystems deckt Widersprüche und Unzulänglichkeiten auf und ermöglicht so Erkenntnisgewinn. Eine moderne informationstechnische Infrastruktur, das sogenannte Alpine and Environmental Data Analysis Center (AlpEnDAC) stellt sicher, dass die an den verschiedenen Orten gewonnenen Messdaten nach international etablierten Standards einfach und komfortabel innerhalb des VAO zugänglich sind und ausgetauscht werden können, egal, an welchem Ort sich die jeweiligen Wissenschaftler oder Ingenieure befinden („data-on-demand“). Zudem wird der Zugang zu Daten ermöglicht, die an anderer Stelle verfügbar sind (z.B. satellitenbasierte Messungen). Den Kern des AlpEnDAC bilden leistungsfähige Rechenzentren wie das LRZ-Supercomputing Center in Garching und vernetzte Datenzentren wie das WMO/ICSU-Weltdatenzentrum für Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre in Oberpfaffenhofen. Durch diese Partner können auch Initiativen z.B. zur Optimierung von numerischen Codes (z.B. Parallelisierung) unterstützt werden, um Auswertearbeiten noch weiter zu optimieren. AlpEnDAC entwickelt darüber hinaus nach Maßgabe der Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure Werkzeuge, die die Interpretation der Daten unterstützt und so beschleunigen hilft. Dieser „Werkzeugkasten“ des AlpEnDAC umfasst dabei neben Möglichkeiten der Datenvisualisierung und der Verschneidung verschiedener Datensätze auch komplexe numerische Computermodelle (z.B. Trajektorien- und Luftqualitätsmodelle, meteorologische Modelle usw.), die von den Wissenschaftlern je nach Anforderung konfektioniert und eingesetzt werden können („computing-on-demand“). Diese Fähigkeiten des AlpEnDAC stellen „Services“ für die Wissenschaftsgemeinde dar, um diese bei ihrer Forschung zu unterstützen.

Daneben sollen im VAO aber auch (C) Dienstleistungen entwickelt und betrieben werden, die nach „außen“ gerichtet sind und Beiträge leisten etwa zu den großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen („societal benefit areas“). Hier liegt die dritte Herausforderung, auf die weiter unten näher eingegangen wird.

Zentrale Herausforderung

Die Wirkungsfolge aus Beobachtung (Observation), Erkenntnisgewinn (Understanding) und Prognosefähigkeit (Prediction) ist das charakteristische Element des VAO. Dieser Dreiklang bildet die unabdingbare Grundlage für die Erzeugung von politisch verwertbarem Handlungswissen (Action).

Wirkungsfolge

Der Mehrwert des VAO

Neben der Möglichkeit eines gegenseitigen Austauschs von Daten unter den Partnern (und darüber hinaus) unterstützt das VAO auch die fortwährende Weiter- und Neuentwicklung von Messgeräten und Sensorik, um die Palette der erfassbaren geophysikalischen Schlüsselgrößen möglichst umfänglich, präzise und nach dem neuesten Stand von Wissenschaft und Technik erfassen zu können. Verfolgt werden soll dabei das innovative Konzept „open-hardware“ in Anlehnung an die etablierten, erfolgreichen, offenen Entwicklungen, wie sie aus dem Bereich der Informationstechnologie bereits bekannt sind. Arbeitsteilige und aufeinander abgestimmte Entwicklungen vermeiden Dopplungen. Die Zusammenarbeit insbesondere mit der Industrie soll bei der Entwicklung und Erprobung neuer Technologien für Sensorik und Messträger je nach Zweckmäßigkeit für beide Seiten intensiviert werden („dual use“) und stellt im Idealfall eine „win-win-Situation“ dar. Ressourcen werden auf diese Weise optimal eingesetzt und Weiterentwicklungen können in kürzeren Zeitabschnitten erfolgen: die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit europäischer Forschung und Entwicklung im Umweltbereich wird so im internationalen Vergleich gesichert.
Die wissenschaftlichen und technischen Fähigkeiten, die unter dem Schirm des VAO versammelt sind, können teilweise auch dazu verwendet werden, um Beiträge zu den großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen („societal benefit areas“) zu leisten. Hierzu gehören z.B. Beiträge zum besseren Verständnis des Zusammenhangs zwischen Gesundheit und Umwelt („Persönlicher Gesundheitskompass“). Ein anderer Beitrag ist etwa die Nutzung des VAO für eine permanente Qualitätssicherung satellitenbasierter Messungen, insbesondere auch im Kontext des europäischen COPERNICUS -Programms. Hier sind auch Querbeziehungen hin zum europäischen GALILEO -Programm denkbar (“service-on-demand“). Insgesamt kann das VAO helfen, fundierte Handlungsgrundlagen für politische Entscheidungsträger und für die Gesellschaft zu liefern.

Organisation

Das VAO lebt von der Vernetzung und vom beständigen Austausch der Partner und der jeweils angeschlossenen Gemeinde der Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure. Ein weiteres strukturgebendes Element des VAO ist daher die regelmäßige Durchführung eines „VAO-Symposiums“, auf dem Wissen und Erfahrungen ausgetauscht werden können und welches auch dem wissenschaftlich-technischen Nachwuchs die Möglichkeit gibt, sich zu präsentieren und zu vernetzen.

Es ist dieser lebendige und kontinuierliche Austausch, der den Nährboden bildet auch für die Gestaltung neuer kreativer und innovativer Ideen, die dann im Rahmen arbeitsteiliger Netzwerke umgesetzt werden können.

Das VAO wird von einem Lenkungsausschuss - dem VAO-Board - gesteuert, dem jeweils Vertreter der Einrichtungen aus den Partnerländern angehören. Der Lenkungsausschuss tagt in der Regel jährlich.

Der VAO-Vorstand wird vom VAO-Büro (VAO Office) unterstützt. Das VAO-Büro stellt eine zentrale Anlaufstelle für Wissenschaftler und Stakeholder dar und übernimmt Aufgaben vor allem in den Bereichen Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Lobbying, Fundraising und Administration.

Politische und gesellschaftliche Einbettung

Das VAO ist Teil der Alpenkonvention, in der sich die Vertragsparteien dazu verpflichtet haben, Forschungen und systematische Beobachtungen in enger Zusammenarbeit zu fördern und zu harmonisieren, die für eine bessere Kenntnis der Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Raum, Wirtschaft und Umwelt in den Alpen und zur Abschätzung zukünftiger Entwicklungen dienlich sind. Als nächste Schritte sollen die Plattformen „ABIS/SOIA“ (Alpenbeobachtungs- und Informationssystem der Alpenkonvention) und das AlpEnDAC des VAO im Rahmen der technischen Möglichkeiten stärker vernetzt werden.

VAO unterstützt die Ziele der Alpenkonvention:

Art.3:Cooperate in the carrying out of research activities and scientific assessments; develop joint or complementary systematic monitoring programs; harmonize research, monitoring and related data-acquisition activities.”
12/13 March 2015: Resolution of the permanent committee of the Alpine Convention: “…supports plans by the High Altitude Research Stations to intensify the already launched cooperation projects for a “Virtual Alpine Observatory“ and to develop it into a center for climate and environmental research in the Alps.”

Das VAO ist ferner eines der Werkzeuge, um die Alpenstrategie der EU umzusetzen. Die Strategie soll die politischen Themenbereiche Wirtschaftswachstum, Innovation; Mobilität und Umwelt sowie Energie abdecken. Hauptziel dieser Strategie ist es sicherzustellen, dass diese Region weiterhin einer der attraktivsten Räume in Europa bleibt, ihre Vorzüge besser nutzt und eine nachhaltige, innovative Entwicklung in einem europäischen Kontext anstößt. Eine der daraus entstehenden Aufgaben ist der Umgang mit dem Klimawandel und dessen Folgen. Hierzu liefert das VAO einen Teil des wissenschaftlichen Unterbaus.

VAO unterstützt auch die EU-Strategie für die Alpenregion (EUSALP):

To improve risk management and to a better manage climate chance including major natural risk prevention; recommended project: “Set up a Virtual Alpine Observatory which brings together Alpine research centers and helps to improve prognosis and common efforts in the research on climate change adaptation, concerning areas like atmosphere, Alpine environment and water balance.”

Zudem unterstützt das VAO mit Georgien als assoziiertes Mitglied auch die Ziele der Östlichen Partnerschaft, einem Teilprojekt der Europäischen Nachbarschaftspolitik (ENP): Im Rahmen einer Erklärung der Umweltminister der EU und der Östlichen Partnerschaft (Armenien, Aserbaidschan, Belarus, Georgien, Republik Moldau und Ukraine) zu Umwelt und Klimawandel vom 18. Oktober 2016 wurde das gemeinsame Ziel formuliert, die Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Umwelt- und Klimapolitik zu intensivieren. Dazu trägt auch das VAO bei, das darüber hinaus offen für weitere östliche Partner ist.

VAO trägt bei zum Erreichen der Ziele der Östlichen Partnerschaft:

“That environmental and climate challenges are transboundary interdependent by nature, and therefore require a holistic approach to address them. Given the geographic proximity of the EU and EaP countries and their shared environmental assets, strengthened transboundary cooperation and joint action on air, forests, land and soil, nature and biodiversity and water resources, including seas, are needed;”
“The need for cooperation among and the active engagement of, governments, local administrations, civil society, the private sector and other stakeholders to address environmental and climate challenges;”

VAO

Since 19 April 2012 the “Virtual Alpine Observatory“ (VAO) has been operating as a network of European High Altitude Research Stations based in the Alps and similar mountain ranges, and now includes eight countries (Austria, France, Germany, Georgia, Italy, Norway, Slovenia and Switzerland). This cross-border and interdisciplinary cooperation has made it possible to address in great depth scientific problems relating to the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere and cryosphere systems, and also the possible impact of environmental influences on health.

VAO: Network of European Alpine Observatories with interlinked infrastructure and joint research topics

Motto: Scientific cooperation – joining forces and resources to avoid duplicate work

Goal: Establishment and further development of high altitude research institutions that address pressing scientific and societal issues

Countries participating: Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Slovenia, Switzerland

Associated countries: Georgia, Norway

Concepts: Data-on-Demand, Computing-on-Demand, Operating-on-Demand, Service-on-Demand

Motivation

The Alpine region is one of the Earth’s areas that are particularly affected by climate change. In this region the temperature has risen by approx. +2.0°C, while the average increase in Europe is only about half as much, namely +1.2°C. The global mean warming is approximately +0.8°C. It is to be expected that the comparatively severe warming we are currently experiencing in the Alpine region will have an impact on the different parts of the Alpine environmental system where the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere and cryosphere represent a complex system of interlinked processes. Changes in one process also have an impact on all of the other spheres. The question of how this works is a key topic of current research. Comprehensive understanding of the complex Alpine environmental system requires, most importantly, an interdisciplinary research approach.
It is therefore one goal of the VAO to bring together scientists, engineers and technicians from practically all of the aforementioned environmental research fields. This permits an investigation of environment-relevant topics from different perspectives, it creates synergies and opens up a more comprehensive approach in formulating solutions than otherwise possible.

Challenges

The particular vulnerability of the Alpine region to climate change represents both a challenge and an opportunity. The challenge is first to be seen in (A) the task of providing sustainable measurements of key geophysical variables of the Alpine environmental system, these being required to address current scientific issues.

Measurements in these fields frequently have to be carried out at different sites in the Alpine region, using comparable standards with adequate precision and also synchronised, where necessary, because reliable and quality-assured observations are paramount for a sound scientific basis.

Measurement requirements

  • in synchronised form → coherence
  • observance of common standards → comparability
  • over a prolonged period, if appropriate → permanence
  • at different sites in the Alpine region → representativeness

The second challenge is seen in (B) the scientific interpretation of the acquired measurements. A comparison of this data with our current understanding of the Alpine environmental system will reveal inconsistencies and deficiencies, and this in turn can lead to additional insights and help improve our knowledge and understanding. A state-of-the-art IT infrastructure, the so-called Alpine Environmental Data Analysis Centre (AlpEnDAC) ensures that the measurements taken at the various sites are easily and conveniently accessible and exchangeable within the VAO, according to international standards, irrespective of where the scientists or engineers are located („data-on-demand“). Furthermore, it will be possible to access data available elsewhere (e.g. satellite-based measurements). The core of the AlpEnDAC is formed by high-power computing centres such as the LRZ-Supercomputing Centre in Garching and networked data centres like the WMO/ICSU World Data Centre for Remote Sensing of the Atmosphere in Oberpfaffenhofen. Through these partners other initiatives can be supported, such as the optimisation of code numbers (e.g. parallelisation), and in this way analysis work can be further enhanced. In addition to this, AlpEnDAC develops tools designed by the scientists and engineers to support data interpretation and help speed up the process. Besides enabling data visualisation and the combination of different datasets, this “toolbox” of the AlpEnDAC also includes complex numeric computer models (e.g. trajectory and air quality models, meteorological models etc.) that can be assembled and used by the scientists as required („computing-on-demand“). These functions of the AlpEnDAC provide “Services“ for the scientific community and support scientists in their research activities.

It is, however, also the goal of the VAO to (C) develop and operate services that are directed to the outside world where they can help face up to major challenges confronting society today (societal benefit areas). This is the third challenge that is explained in greater detail below.

Key challenge


The impact resulting from observation, gained knowledge and predictability is the characteristic element of the VAO. This triad forms the indispensable basis for generating know-how that can then be used in action to be taken at political level.

Added value of the VAO

Besides the partners being able to exchange data among themselves (and with others), the VAO also supports the consistent further and new development of measuring equipment and sensory systems in order to capture the most extensive and accurate range of detectable geophysical key parameters possible, also using state-of-the-art science and technology. In this process, the innovative “open-hardware“ approach is to be applied, using established and successful open developments already known from the IT field. Shared and coordinated developments avoid duplicate work. In the development and testing of new technologies for sensor systems and measurement platforms, cooperation - particularly with the industry - is to be intensified, where expedient (dual use), ideally constituting a win-win situation. In this way, resources are optimally used and advanced developments can be implemented in a shorter period of time, ensuring international competitiveness of European research and development in environmental fields.

The scientific and technical expertise gathered under the umbrella of the VAO can also contribute towards meeting the major challenges of our times (“Societal Benefit Areas”). For instance, by helping to create a better understanding of the interaction between health and the environment (personal heath compass). Another possibility is to use the VAO for permanent quality assurance of satellite-based measurements, especially in the context of the European COPERNICUS programme. Here interactions with the European GALILEO programme are also conceivable (“service-on-demand“). Political decision makers and the society in general will thus be able to draw on the pool of expertise provided by the VAO.

Organisation

The VAO thrives on the networking and consistent exchange between the partners and the respectively connected community of scientists and engineers. Another essential element of the VAO is therefore the regular organisation of a “VAO Symposium“ to share know-how and experiences, which also offers scientific and technical young talent a platform where they can network and present themselves.

It is this lively and constant exchange that forms a breeding ground, also for shaping new creative and innovative ideas that can then be implemented in shared networks.
The VAO is governed by a steering committee – the VOA Board – composed of representatives of the respective institutions in the partner countries. The steering committee normally meets once a year.

The VAO-Board is supported by the VAO-Office. The VAO-Office especially represents a central contact point for scientists and stakeholders and performs tasks mainly in the fields of public relations, lobbying, fundraising and administration.

Political and societal integration

The VAO is part of the Alpine Convention in which the Contracting Parties have agreed to promote and harmonise research work and systematic observations in close cooperation that will serve a better understanding of the interaction between region, economy and environment in the Alps and help to forecast future developments. As next steps, the networking of the platforms „ABIS/SOIA“ (System for Observation and Information on the Alps of the Alpine Convention) and the AlpEnDAC of the VAO is to be maximised wherever technically feasible.

VAO supports the goals of the Alpine Convention:

Art.3: “Cooperate in the carrying out of research activities and scientific assessments; develop joint or complementary systematic monitoring programs; harmonize research, monitoring and related data-acquisition activities.”
12/13 March 2015: Resolution of the permanent committee of the Alpine Convention: “…supports plans by the High Altitude Research Stations to intensify the already launched cooperation projects for a “Virtual Alpine Observatory“ and to develop it into a centre for climate and environmental research in the Alps.”

The VAO is, moreover, one of the tools to be used for implementing the Alpine Strategy of the EU. This strategy is aimed to cover the political topics of economic growth, innovation; mobility and environment as well as energy. The main goal of the strategy is to ensure that this region remains one of Europe’s most attractive spaces, leveraging on its benefits and initiating a sustainable, innovative development in a European context. One of the tasks in this respect is to manage climate change and its consequences. The VAO delivers a scientific basis for addressing this task.

VAO also supports the European Strategy for the Alpine Region (EUSALP):

(…) To improve risk management and to better manage climate change including major natural risk prevention; recommended project: “Set up a Virtual Alpine Observatory which brings together Alpine research centres and helps to improve forecasts and common efforts in research on climate change adaptation, concerning such fields as the atmosphere, Alpine environment and water balance.”

In addition, the VAO with Georgia as an associated member also supports the objectives of the Eastern Partnership, a subproject of the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP): A joint statement regarding environment and climate change was drawn up in the first meeting on 18 October 2016 Ministers of the Environment of EU member states and the Eastern Partnership (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine). The common goal was formulated to intensify cooperation in the field of environmental and climate policy. The VAO which is also open to further Eastern countries is contributing to this goal as well.

VAO contributes to the Eastern Partnership goals:

“That environmental and climate challenges are transboundary interdependent by nature, and therefore require a holistic approach to address them. Given the geographic proximity of the EU and EaP countries and their shared environmental assets, strengthened transboundary cooperation and joint action on air, forests, land and soil, nature and biodiversity and water resources, including seas, are needed;”
“The need for cooperation among and the active engagement of, governments, local administrations, civil society, the private sector and other stakeholders to address environmental and climate challenges;”