slide 1
slide 1

The Virtual Alpine Observatory (VAO)

Since 19 April 2012 the “Virtual Alpine Observatory“ (VAO) has been operating as a network of European High Altitude Research Stations based in the Alps and similar mountain ranges, and now includes ten countries (Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Georgia, Italy, Norway, Slovenia and Switzerland). This cross-border and interdisciplinary cooperation has made it possible to address in great depth scientific problems relating to the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere and cryosphere systems, and also the possible impact of environmental influences on health. more

5th VAO Symposium in Bern/Switzerland from 4 to 6 February 2020 | more information

Participating observatories and institutions

Memebrs of VAO are Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Slovenia, Switzerland, Associated are: Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Georgia and Norway